Sense of Entitlement

Original Blog Post April 12, 2016
I went out to do my morning chores and before I even got the brooding pen I could hear them. It was the 3 little goslings just going off about something. I go in and they immediately run up to me, holler, and run back to the waterer. It was almost empty so I assumed that was the problem.
I clean it up, fill it with fresh water and put it back in place. Everyone runs up and gets a drink. Then the 3 musketeers start hollering again. They run to me and back to the feeder. Apparently it wasn’t as full as they like it. I add more feed. Everyone runs over to check it out. The 3 musketeers were happy for a minute and then they started up again.Why? I haven’t a clue this time. As I walked out and closed the door behind me I realized that they reminded me of my one daughter.
No matter what she has she is constantly complaining that she wants or needs something different. If she sees a commercial on TV she wants the advertised item no matter if it would be of benefit to her or not. We have had many a talk about this. And sometimes the ‘You know the kids in other parts of the world would be happy to have this food, toy or whatever it is that she is complaining about.’ slips out. Now I know all kids complain and all kids ask for things but she is different. She expects these things just because she wants them. Notice I didn’t say she needs them. I am trying to teach my kids the difference between wants and needs.
Lately though I have been making some changes. If you need something then Momma will provide it but if you want something, depending on the cost of this something, you will need to work for it. You will need to EARN it.
Sometimes the idea of work is enough to make them rethink what they wanted. If they still want it then I will ask them what they think should be done to earn it. Usually their idea is not in line with my idea so we talk about it. If the job is completed then they get the item, if not then nothing is earned.
To earn something makes it mean more to them. It helps them develop a sense of accomplishment and make them more responsible for the item. This new plan has also cut back on some of the complaining and whining. I also thought about myself during this process. So often we wonder why things are the way they are and we pray for a change. We do the same things the kids do.
‘God, why is everything so hard for me?’
‘Why does nothing seem to go right?’
‘Why can’t I find an easy job like that?’
Instead of whining and complaining we need to ask him to lead us in the direction we should go. Ask him to show us what we need to do to earn what it is that we are wanting. The greater the struggle the more we will appreciate the end result.
Leave a Reply

