Taking out the trash.

God works on our hearts when we are least expecting it. I’ve been going through a really rough time lately. I can’t explain it all because it would be just so confusing. I’ve questioned some of the life changing decisions I’ve made in the past few years. I’ve wondered if I made the right decisions. I’ve questioned who I am and what I am doing.
I wondered why some people have treated me so badly and why some people are they way they are. Why can’t they change? What can I do to better help the situation? So what can I do with the way I feel about these people and their actions?
I was cleaning the kitchen trash can, of all things, and we all know how nasty those things can get. Looking at the nasty mess I had soaking in the sink I and then seeing it all rinse away with the hot water making the trash can clean again I realized the only thing I can do. I can’t change the people. I can’t change the way they feel. I can’t change what has been done or said. I can only change myself and my feelings. It won’t be easy and may take a little time but I have to forgive. That is the only way to repair the relationships that have been damaged.
I can make sure that I am doing what God would have me to do so that anyone who hears the rumors and gossip wouldn’t believe it. I can pray that God will give me an opportunity to show those who have hard feelings against me that I have forgiven them. I can pray that He will soften their hearts and let them see who I am. I can be patient and trust in the Lord. I can be thankful for what He has given me. I can look for the positive in the worst of the situations.
If I just keep letting the trash of what has happened in the past build up and adding more trash to it then its just going to be a big stinky mess. It will make me hateful and bitter. Sooner or later that trash will need to be emptied and thrown out. So why not today?
Today I choose to forgive those who have offended and hurt me. I will try my best to start fresh. I will clean up my heart and count the many blessings God has given me. I will pray and ask Him to give me strength, wisdom, courage and patience to handle what He has planned for me. I pray that He will give me grace, dignity, and thoughtfulness when responding to those who have hurt me. I pray that He will give me the opportunity to show them compassion, kindness, and His unconditional love. I pray that He can change them and bring them closer to Him.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

