Are you needy?

My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.  – Philippians 4:19 

We all have needs every day. Sometimes our needs are great like looking for a new place to live or a dependable vehicle to get us back and forth to work. Sometimes our needs are small like finding a clean sheet of paper that hasn’t been scribbled on. Whatever our needs are we must remember to have faith in God that He will supply each and every one of these needs.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. – Philippians 4:6

I know that sometimes it can be hard to wait on God for what we feel like we need right now. But we are told to not be anxious, not to fret and worry. We are told to give our needs up to God with prayer and supplication with thanksgiving. The Bible says that He will supply our every need according to His riches in glory.

My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:19 

So we need to remember to ask Him to supply our needs on a daily basis. I have had some pretty strange requests and I will often times whisper a quick prayer and thank God for hearing me. Then, more times than not, I will see that prayer request answered even though sometimes my ‘needs’ would be better classified as ‘wants’.

Not too long ago I was ‘needing’ another Windex bottle to put in the bathroom. (I have plenty of Windex but I needed an empty bottle to fill so I could keep a bottle in each bathroom.) Yes, this was a little thing but wouldn’t you know that the next day I was cleaning out under the kitchen sink, where I had previously looked for an empty bottle, and there was a bottle right there waiting for me.

Then last year I had stocked up on some groceries before the holidays. Well, we had some mice move into a cabinet and eat through a case of chicken broth! I prayed that God would let me find another good sale and also to give me the strength and patience to clean up the mess. Later that evening we had a surprise visit from our Pastor and his wife. Someone at the church had sent some food for us. There was another case of chicken broth in the package! (There were also several items I had put on my grocery list to buy for our holiday dinner.)

So remember that there is nothing too great or too small that we can’t ask from our Father. He will supply us with what we need when we need it, if we only ask. So when you pray for something remember to go ahead and thank Him in advance because He is already working on it!

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. -Matthew 6:31-32

I have been keeping a prayer journal and I write down my requests. I also write a ‘Thank You’ beside them. When I see that the need has been answered I check it off and thank Him again. When I feel anxious or discouraged I can go back over my list and remember just how good He has been to me and how He has supplied my past needs. I know that he will continue to supply my present needs as well my future needs also.

What do you need today?

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

