Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays

The holiday season is upon us and so comes the debate of whether to say ‘Merry Christmas’ or ‘Happy Holidays’. Well, for me, it is not a question at all. It is ‘Merry Christmas’ every time, every where I go. I know some people make a bug fuss about it but I try not to.

Even though I celebrate Christmas there are many other holidays that fall during the Christmas season. These include Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, and the Winter Solstice. In the instance that you are not sure of someone’s religious affiliation it would be understandable to just say ‘Happy Holidays’.

It is becoming more and more popular to use terms that are more ‘customer friendly’ in business. No one wants to offend anyone and they want to have everyone included. It is impossible to please 100% of the people 100% of the time but the changing times insist that we should try.

Not only are the greetings being changed but so are the names of other holiday related items. Christmas trees are now being called ‘Holiday Trees’. Many schools no longer hold Christmas pageants or plays but rather Holiday Programs now. This isn’t really a surprise with all the changes they have made with religion in schools.

Should we wage war on someone who wishes us a ‘Happy Holidays’ instead of a ‘Merry Christmas’? No, I don’t think so. I think that would just defeat the purpose for the season. I don’t think anyone has ever greeted me with a ‘Happy Holidays’ in an attempt to hurt me in any way or to dishonor Christmas. With the religious diversity around us it will probably become more common.

So if someone greets me with a ‘Happy Holidays’ I will continue to smile politely and wish them a ‘Merry Christmas’ in return.

Merry Christmas!

Thank you so much!

