Ode to a Sandspur

Oh, Sandspur my foe

It’s you I fear

I hate you so

As winter comes near
You started out kind of pretty

Really quite innocent

Almost delicate to see

Until the summer is spent
When you’re green 

You’re not so bad

When you’re brown 

You’re oh so mean
Not anyone do you spare

From head to toe and in between

From your pain and despair

The likes have never been seen
With your round little sphere 

Covered in so many a briar 

Can make anyone shed a tear

Worse than old barb wire
So I beg of you please

Have mercy on poor little me

Don’t stick my elbows or knees

Neither my finger or pinky
Please don’t make me cry

Please don’t make bleed

Don’t hurt me by and by

This I beg, this I plead
No hitchhiking on shoes

Or pant legs without a care

Because my patience I might lose

If I step on you unaware
I hate you so
As winter comes near
Oh, Sand spur my foe

It’s you I fear

Leave a Reply

