Easy Collard Greens

A lot of times when I make greens I will ‘cheat’ and buy them canned. Every now and then I see them on sale or someone will stop by and bless me with a mess of fresh greens. They are so much better than the canned.

I don’t make them enough to remember exactly how I make them, and I seem to have misplaced, or maybe let someone borrow, my recipe box so I found a fairly simple recipe to use for now.

Easy Collard Greens (links to original recipe from Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (1 pound) package washed and chopped collard greens
  • 4 bacon slices, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper
  • water to cover

Directions:

  1. Combine collard greens, bacon, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, sugar, and cayenne pepper in a stock pot. Pour enough water over the greens mixture to cover completely. Bring the water to a boil, reduce heat to low, and cook at a simmer until the greens are tender, about 2 hours.

If using garden fresh greens you will need to wash them and cut them up. See this video for details, if needed.

6 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

