Weenie Roast

What is a Weenie Roast you may wonder? Well, a church that we went to in NC would have a Weenie Roast every Fall. They had a small fire and the men would go find some nice twigs for the kids to use to roast their hot dogs and marshmallows on. It was something we always looked forward to and we love the memories that we have from those times.

My older kids wanted to recreate those memories for the younger ones so we have a Weenie Roast set to repeat on the meal schedule. Of course we also include a Weenie Roast as a camping activity. If the weather is nice I may even let the kids camp in the back yard.

We just plan it like a cookout or BBQ. We will have hot dogs, chips, potato salad, and whatever sides anyone else wants to bring or make. It is not meant to be anything fancy, just a little break to sit and relax around a fire and to make memories. I love the way a wood fire smells and that alone can trigger some wonderful memories for myself.

Those are the kinds of memories that I want my kids to have and I find that I have to be intentional in my planning of some things. If not, life gets in the way and things get so busy and hectic that I don’t feel I have time. By having it on the calendar I can plan for it and be ready for some FUN!

Here are some ideas that I have found online that can help you to make your own Weenie Roast, if you like.

Weenie Roast Party Ideas

How to Host a Weenie Roast

Weenie Roast ideas on Pinterest

weenie roast ideas via google search

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

