No yellow rocking at the checkout!

I have to smile at the title to the this post. This was a very good day and probably one of the most enjoyable days I’ve had in a very long time!

For those of you who don’t know what ‘yellow rocking’ is, it is a square dance call where the dancers will hug another dancer, usually their corner. What/who is a corner? For me it would be the person standing to my right.

Getting back to the post, as some of you may know I began square dancing classes a little over a month ago! I wish I had done this sooner. Sometimes, especially us stay at home moms, kind of get into the routine of doing things for everyone else and we forget about ourselves. Well I had been making little dates/outings for myself from time to time but I felt like I needed to do something but I wasn’t quite sure what that something was.

Then along came a Facebook post about square dancing classes. It was a day and time that would work for me so I decided to go. I missed the first class because of unforeseen circumstances but I kept having this little nagging voice telling me that I needed to make sure to go to the next one. Well I made sure I went and I haven’t missed a one. In fact, I’ve started going to an extra one every week.

This is something that I enjoy tremendously. It sparked something in me and I am so thankful for that first post I stumbled across. Not only is it great fun, it is a bit of a workout sometimes too. You have to use your brain to learn and remember the calls so it does help with memory. The best part of it, for me, is the social aspect. Granted a lot of the people are quite a bit older than me but they are adults and we have adult conversations! You may be laughing at me but when you’ve been at home with as many kids as I have and all you talk about is dinosaurs for weeks it is a bit refreshing to have a change in topic.

Also, as some of you may have guessed from other posts, I have been blessed to meet someone who has grown on me in many ways. I won’t bore you with sappy stuff but I am truly blessed. I believe that this was something that God had planned for me and I am just trying to listen to what He wants me to do and where He wants me to be. Life is so much easier when you just hand it over to Him and let Him lead.

So, since I am so very excited by square dancing, I needed some outfits. I have been going to the thrift stores and occasionally stumble across a piece or two. I have found a couple of things on Ebay and Etsy also. However I did not have a complete outfit. Now, you can dance without an outfit but I can tell you from experience that it is much easier to dance with the proper attire. It also looks so much prettier when you are watching.

Well, this ‘need’ is what led me to our latest adventure. I went with my ‘friend’ as he knew where to go for dancing attire. We made the trip, which was a couple hours there and back, and came back with more than I ever imagined. I can only say that it was such a blessing to spend the day with him. Ooooohhhhh! You just don’t know the joy and happiness that has been overflowing from my little ole heart!

You are probably wondering where we went and what we got. We went to Virginia’s Western Wear & Square Dance Shop. Chuck helped us to find everything we needed and more! He was so friendly and we were able to answer some of his square dancing questions as well. One of which was to explain the term ‘Yellow Rock’ which we immediately went into a hug as my friend was standing to my right.

This store has been in business since 1979 and has so many wonderful items including western wear on top of western wear. Now the square dance section may seem a little bit small when you first walk in but he has a ton of stuff in the back so all you need to do is ask.

I have never seen such a selection of crinolines and pettipants. I felt like I was playing dress up the whole time we were there. You can easily change the look of one outfit with the different color petticoats, and belts that he has in stock.

I have a few pics of some of the outfits that we got that day plus some of the accessories. This first picture is of the basic tops and skirts that we selected:

17203163_10212047248040105_6834800570948000451_n.jpg

I went with the basic black skirt and a turquoise colored skirt as well. There are a white blouse and pink blouse in the picture that I did not get at the store but we did purchase blouses in turquoise, black, gray, burgundy, and red. By doing this I will be able to wear a multitude of different combinations and never feel like I am wearing the same outfit over and over again, or at least not for a while.

The black blouse and the white blouse also have the option to change out the ribbon with another color to make it coordinate with so many more outfits. Here is a picture of the ribbons:

17264587_10212059608269103_6774045125828303244_n.jpg

As you can see we have black w/white polka dots, hot pink, gold, silver, turquoise, and a burgundy ribbon. The white shirt and the black shirt have a ribbon to coordinate with them also. We also bought a couple of belts to match with the different ribbons and outfits but I did not get a picture of them.

Of course the outfits are nice but what really makes them stand out are the crinolines and/or petticoats that go underneath the skirts! (Please excuse the messy bathroom pictured as I was running out of room to put everything that night.) We purchased the turquoise, the silver, the black, and the white crinolines on Wednesday. I was originally just going after the basic black and white but I was later convinced that the others would go with the outfits as well.

17022516_10212047253560243_1455799136568590320_n.jpg

And if you are wearing these beautiful outfits then you will probably be dancing at some point. When you dance you will probably get twirled. What happens when you twirl? Your skirt will go up and I don’t know about you but I don’t wanna show everyone my undies. There is a solution to that as well:

17191137_10212059608789116_5272745358231370651_n.jpg

We got an assortment of pettipants for me to wear under the whole outfit. The are basically just really frilly shorts. And what a selection he has there! I went with the shorter version. They also have some that are even shorter and some that are way longer. It is just a matter of preference as to which ones you should choose.

The guys usually have it a little bit simpler than the girls do when it comes to dancing attire. Chuck does have a variety of men’s colored shirts (and pants) that will match with just about any woman’s outfit that he sells. We didn’t buy any men’s shirts as most of my outfits will match with shirts he already has. He did however find couple of bolos to wear and a pair of earrings for me. 🙂

17197890_1794581134199202_1417856261_n.jpg17238179_1794581294199186_1959530325_n.jpg

All in all it was a very successful shopping adventure. This coming from a girl who really doesn’t like shopping much at all. Then Chuck was also running a 25% off deal with an extra 5% discount for cash. So, if you are interested in square dancing apparel or you just wanna check out some of the western wear he has you can visit him, be sure to call ahead, and let him know that you heard about it from me.

He also mentioned that they will do mail orders but you would need to call the store for more information on that. The Facebook page link is here and all of the information regarding hours, address, and contact information is on there. Please take a minute and check them out! Just remember that there is no ‘Yellow Rocking’ at the checkout.

This is not the end of our adventure though. I was blessed and feeling more than a little like a spoiled princess when we checked out only to have the blessing multiplied. My little ole heart was already bursting at the seams which resulted in a Yellow Rock or two but then Chuck gave us something that would allow us to be able to bless others as well. I will do another post on that soon though.

So now you may be wanting to see these outfits put together….

If not, then don’t scroll any further down the page. I will apologize in advance for these mirror selfies, as I don’t do selfies well at all! I promise I was overjoyed and thrilled when I took these but I was also pretty exhausted so the expressions on my face are showing that. Not to mention my hair was a mess. But that’s life and we don’t always look perfectly put together!

Here is the turquoise outfit with different colored crinolines:

17190811_10212047076835825_4811117779549715215_n (1).jpg17191168_10212047076955828_8590808552813267623_n (1).jpg

Here is the black skirt with a couple of different tops and different crinolines:

17201285_10212047076915827_6830329624098069305_n (1).jpg17200948_10212047077715847_3292392707771719160_n (1).jpg

I’m sure I will be posting more pics of more outfits later on but these were just a couple that I managed to remember to snap that night.

Be sure to follow my blog to get updates on new posts and information that I will publish.

God Bless and have a wonderful week!

 

Leave a Reply

