March 29, 2017

Hey there everyone! I hope you all are doing well. We are doing pretty good here. The weather has been extremely nice, not too hot and not too cold, and we have been able to enjoy the outdoors a bit.

Life has been busy, as usual, and a bit crazy at times. I can’t believe how fast time flies. It seems like only a week or two ago that I decided to go to my first square dance class but it has been a little over 8 weeks ago! I have learned so much and so much has changed. That one decision has literally been a life changing event for my family and me.

This week especially has been and will be very busy. We’ve already been to two dances and we have two more to go to not to mention that we have our special April Fool’s Dangle Dance on Saturday. Square dancing is so much more than just dancing around and listening to the caller yell ‘Do-si-do’ and ‘Swing your partner’. It is a lifestyle! It encompasses so many different aspects of life that I can’t even begin to touch them all right now.

I am just learning the basics of everything but a lot of square dancing goes back to the basic courtesies and manners of old. It is such a pleasure to see, well at least for me it is, the men taking charge and the ladies following their lead. I know, I know, a lot of people wouldn’t agree that that is the way things should be but we are all entitled to our own feelings and beliefs.

Square dancing is also good for you in so many ways! It is a great form of exercise for all ages and it can also help with memory issues and mental clarity. I have always tried to do my exercising but sometimes I’d get bored by doing the same thing again and again. Other times certain things would bother my joints or hurt my back. I don’t have these issues when I am square dancing.

We are always doing something different too and just when you think you know what the caller is doing he’ll switch it up on you! It really helps to keep your mind sharp and makes you focus on what he is saying so that you can be sure to catch the call. Then the fact that some of the calls aren’t used as often as others makes you pull from those memory banks to remember the rules so you can execute the call properly. I like to be challenged from time to time and I definitely get that while dancing.

Then there is the social part of it. I am usually a very shy person and that make it hard for me to meet and make new friends. I have met so many new people since I’ve started dancing and it has been so much fun.  There are a variety of different people and it keeps thing interesting. I always have a good time and my face is usually sore after a night of dancing because I laugh so much! Everyone seems to have a good time everywhere we go. Then more often than not people hang around after the dance to talk and sometimes we all go out to eat afterwards. Talk about fun!

I have seen some people really come alive after a visit or two with the groups. Some of the people are lonely after a divorce or the passing of a loved one and they just want to be around other people. Maybe the kids have all moved out and they just feel kind of lost. The dancers are all so welcoming and friendly that it is almost impossible for anyone not to feel genuinely ‘at home’.

Can I also say, without revealing too much, that not all dancers are part of a couple. Sometimes you will find a single dancer at a dance and who knows what could the future could hold if you are single yourself?

Square dancing is also good clean fun, plain and simple. Sometimes that is hard to find anymore. Not only that many clubs are a big part of the community and do their part to help out wherever needed with benefit dances and such. I have heard many stories of square dancers coming together to help fellow dancers after house fires or other unexpected circumstances. It makes my heart smile to hear these stories time and time again.

Unfortunately square dancing seems to be a dying tradition. I am hoping that we can bring it back to life though.I can see the possibilities it could hold for many families who long to find family friendly activities that everyone can enjoy and be a part of. I know that I do plan to introduce my kids to it in the near future and get them involved in it as well.

I encourage each of you to check it out. Maybe you know someone, a friend, a neighbor, or maybe a parent, who could benefit from a little extra movement, who needs some new friends, or maybe someone who just desires to feel like they are a part of something.  Square dancing is for all ages so don’t ever feel like you are too old or too young to try. I know that it won’t be something for everyone but at least you could give a try and see what happens.

Well, today is our only free day this week so I have a few errands to run while the kids are down for naps. I still have a few things to finish up for our upcoming dance and a couple of things to get ready as far as my outfits go for the next couple of days. I will be taking my older daughter along while running errands for a little mother/daughter time too. (We are going to try and check out the new ‘Five Below’ store in town.)

This afternoon will also be ‘fun day’ with the kids. We will probably do some arts and crafts and I have already gotten the stuff for some root beer floats this evening. The kids are excited about the upcoming dance as they have seen some of the decorations and I have promised to give them some of them after the dance. Not to mention they want to have their own little ‘party’ with whatever Momma has left over.

I hope you all have a wonderful week and weekend! Be sure to check out the Silver Fox Squares on FB and our new page on WordPress. We are also on Twitter @SilverFoxSquare. All of the pages are still in the baby stages but we would appreciate a like and/or follow.

Thank you and God Bless!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice👏🏻😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

