May 18, 2017

Hey everyone! It’s been a little bit since I’ve checked in. Life has been crazier and busier than usual and I’m loving everyday!

The kids are growing like weeds right before my eyes. I try to make sure to take a few moments to savor these moments as I know they will be grown up before I know it. Everything is not always great as we have the expected, and unexpected, challenges that go along with kids, large families, special needs kids, and introducing them to new people. We handle each challenge with as much patience and optimism as we can. (Note that I am saying ‘we’ as I have met someone very special. He has been an answer to so many of my prayers and I thank God for bringing him into our lives. God not only answered my prayers but exceeded my expectations in so many ways.)

We are still homeschooling and have 14 days? of school work left to finish out this year. That too has had a few challenges especially with one of my girls. Again we work through the problem and try to find the best possible solution for everyone. Parenting is not easy and you must stay on your toes at all times. The solution for today’s challenge may not be the solution for tomorrow’s challenge and it may not be the solution for the other children so you have to stay open minded and be creative. It really does help to have someone else that I can go to for ideas on occasion.

Monday was my youngest child’s 4th birthday! Where has time gone? He requested a Stegosaurus Pull-Apart-Cake and was so excited when Momma was able to throw one together. We sang to him and had cupcakes for our afternoon snack as Momma had a dance that evening. Yesterday I was able to take him out for his birthday meal. (This is a tradition we started a year or two ago and the kids all look forward to it.) He wanted a cheeseburger, chicken nuggets, french fries, ice cream, and a soda pop! We went to Dairy Queen and got most of his request. He was such a happy camper. He ate half of everything, except the ice cream which he finished, and brought the rest home so he could share.

After eating we went to Walmart so I could grab a few groceries and he was able to pick out a toy and a balloon. He had been so sleepy while we were eating that I was afraid he might not make it through his dinner. He did fall asleep on the way back home though. As soon as we got home he was awake and ready to show off his new treasures. Life is good and I hope this is something that he will remember in the days to come.

Then we have square dancing. I’m not sure if I told you all this before or not but I have been made the Publicity Chairman for the Silver Fox Squares! I am also the caller’s assistant at the Clay Allemanders club.  We have new classes starting up in another location too and upcoming dances and such to plan and organize.

We’ve had so many fun and exciting adventures and so many more to come. I better go for now as I’ve just put the kids down for naps and I have few chores to finish up before getting ready for the Luau tonight….

I pray everyone has a blessed week!

 

Leave a Reply

