Shopping: Discount Bread Stores

I finally went grocery shopping yesterday after about a 2 week break! The pantry and freezer were looking a bit bare but they look much better now.

My grocery cart was rather full, actually almost to the point of overflowing, by the time I reached the bread aisle in the grocery store. I had been planning on stopping by the new Aldi but it was so crowded I chose to go to another store. That grocery store happened to be fairly close to a discount bread store. I had been in the habit of stopping by the bread store once or twice a month to stock up on bread and occasionally some snacks. With my crazy schedules last year I fell out of the habit.

Well, yesterday I managed to squeeze it in after the grocery store and I was so glad I did. I know that sometimes people have a distorted image of what a discount bread store is. I have never bought anything that was not edible and since I freeze most of the bread I buy it keeps for a while.

The picture at the top is some of the bread I bought. The date was June 8, 2017 and I bought it on June 1. This same bread was over $3.00 a loaf in the grocery store and I paid $0.99 a loaf for it at the bread store. There was some fresher bread that was being sold for $2.00 a loaf and some that was discounted even more than what I paid but some of that was a bit smashed so I decided against it.

I also stocked with a fw packs of hot dog buns, a box of snack crackers, a couple of gravy mixes (I love the pepper gravy mix they carry), and 4 more boxes of snacks. Combined with the 10 loaves of bread I bought it was all less that $20.00! I would’ve spent well over $30.00 at the grocery store for the same items.

I am always looking for ways to stretch my dollar a little bit further and the bread store will definitely be making it to the top of my grocery saving list! If you haven’t stopped by one of these little stores I highly recommend you check one out. They always have a great selection of items and the items change quite frequently. You’ll never know what they have or how much you’ll save until you stop in for yourself.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

