Baking Soda Drain Cleaner And Freshener

In my post about the wonky smell, I mentioned that I cleaned my kitchen drains with a baking soda and vinegar mixture. However, I have come to realize that some people don’t know how to do this. It’s really quite simple and I’ll explain it here. (I’ll try to take pics or maybe a video to post along with this the next time I do it.)

Not only is this easy it’s also a cheap way to clean and maintain your drains and garbage disposal. These ingredients are environmentally friendly as well. I have also used this method to clear drain clogs as well as toilet clogs.

We have also found that this helps a lot when we have gnats and/or fruit flies hanging around the kitchen!

Baking Soda Drain Cleaner And Freshener

Baking Soda Drain Cleaner And Freshener

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. baking soda
  • 1 c. white vinegar (or some people use salt)
  • 2 quarts of boiling water

Directions:

Pour baking soda down the drain.

Pour the vinegar or salt down the drain.

If using the vinegar you should wait about 5-10 minutes and then flush with the boiling water being careful not to burn yourself.

If using the salt it would be best to wait a bit longer or even overnight, if possible, before flushing with boiling water.

The drain should smell fresher and if it was clogged it will begin to unclog itself.

Stubborn clogs may take a bit of time to clear and you can repeat with boiling water every 10 minutes or so until it is running smooth.


2677f0a36770926978821263f95544e9

Clean without the harsh chemicals!

Please comment below:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.